The Daily Post: Share the Love

Tell us about another blogger who has influenced your own online journey.

Though its several days late to post on this prompt from, this suggested topic caught my attention when I ran through my inbox recently and I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to express some blog gratitude. I began blogging a few years ago, and was inspired to make several important life changes, due to Elizabeth Harper and her blog Gifts of the Journey .

In discovering this blog a few years ago, I immediately found common ground. The author and I do not know one another personally, but I noticed that we shared similar professional background. That was my hook that got me interested in what the blog contained. As I followed Gifts of the Journey, I was encouraged to read on about Elizabeth’s daily adventures and perspective through her camera lens.

As someone who, at the time, was struggling to find an appropriate harmony between my profession and my personal life, I was hooked. Don’t get me wrong, I have a terrific marriage, a happy home and a successful career; but I was beginning to feel that something else was missing in the category of what I did with my downtime for me. To be able to balance the required amount of input I threw into my job each day, I needed more to counter that in what I did with my free time – I was searching for what defined me beyond the 9-to-5. In Elizabeth’s blog, I found the best example I’ve seen yet of someone who fills every available minute with the important things and who has re-focused her life on the things that truly bring personal joy – not fillers. For me, this blog was a sorely needed guidebook to get started in finding my own life balance and fulfillment of self.

Personal blogs, much like art, can speak to people in different ways; Gifts of the Journey can be a reminder to all that there is so much more to life than what we may think. Even when things are going well in general, your dreams and desires are always possible and worth pursuing.

2 thoughts on “The Daily Post: Share the Love

  1. Thanks, LB for such a wonderful post. I’ve been in a bit of writing funk over the last few months since a car accident in Wales shook me up and your lovely thoughts about the impact of my words and images is just what I’ve been needing to get back to posting on a regular basis. Your bird photos are gorgeous and I will certainly be back to see what you have to share.

    • Thank you for your kind words. I do hope you’re recovering well and I’m so glad to hear you are alright! Always appreciate your feedback and I look forward to your next post 🙂 All my best!

Leave a Reply

