Scarlet Tanager

I saw this bird just once last year after we moved in. And I have not seen it since, until now. Just recently I caught the telltale red color and was excited to see this bird back again.

2013-06-30 Scarlet Tanager 01

As seems to be the case with many other birds, a cowbird must have deposited an egg in this bird’s nest as I saw it feeding a baby cowbird in the yard for a few hours. For the life of me I couldn’t focus precisely on the bird itself so the picture isn’t the clearest when increased in size.

2013-06-30 Scarlet Tanager 02

So now that I’ve seen a scarlet tanager twice now, I hope it will come around more often. Very striking and beautiful bird that is such a treat to get to see.

Leave a Reply

