Nearly Missed It

On briefly glancing outside as I was upstairs today, I caught sight of a Cooper’s Hawk resting in the trees above our feeders. As my camera was downstairs, I did the dance of the bumblebee down the staircase and switched lenses in time to snag a very quick picture before it flew off.

2013-10-28 Coopers Hawk

Unfortunately I didn’t get great shots due to being quite out of breath when I finally got to a first floor window with camera in hand and having difficulty focusing on the bird and not the trees before it took off. But some minor editing brought out enough detail to get the overall details.

2013-10-28 Coopers Hawk 2

 

In feeding birds the last few years I’ve noticed that hawks will have a presence near feeders; not regularly but they will show up once in a while. It can be out of curiosity, looking for a small bird snack or sipping at the bird bath, where the feeders are, a hawk there will likely be.

Leave a Reply

