Little Bird, Big Lens

2014-02-13 Black Capped Chickadee

I’ve had some fun in our most recent snowfall with photos of birds in branches. The black-capped chickadee is a bird that doesn’t sit still for very long so I don’t tend to have many pictures of them from our back woods. However I had a big lens on my camera this day and I decided to try to grab a good picture or two for the heck of it.

My husband lets me play with his Canon lenses that he’s accumulated over the years and I particularly have fun with the 100-400mm f4.5-5.6.  My day-to-day pictures are typically snagged with a 200mm f2.8 (also his) which is much easier for me to manage without the tripod. I can snap virtually anything with wings from our family room windows with the big lens mounted on my SLR. However, I’ll be the first to admit, it’s heavy and I generally don’t use it unless it’s mounted on a tripod or resting on some other supportive surface. Sure is fun though!

Leave a Reply

